Skip to main content

Becoming a Lead System Architect


  • Pega’s CLSA program ranked #4 “Next Big Thing” by Certification Magazine!

    Lead System Architects are responsible for the design and quality of Pega solutions. They lead implementation teams and ensure that solutions leverage the technology to provide optimum business value. They provide technical mentoring and leadership across teams.


    Enroll Now

  • The CLSA 7.3 Learning Path Overview

    This learning path combines Pega Academy courses with on-the-job experience to ensure that system architects get exposure to the breadth and depth of Pega products which is required to perform effectively in a leading role.

    The following diagram illustrates the full program. 

    LSA path

  • Prerequisites

  • Experience

  • Readiness Exam

  • LSA Readiness Exam

    When system architects are confident that they can configure a Pega solution to successfully meet most business requirements, they can take the LSA Readiness exam.  The LSA Readiness Exam tests knowledge learned in the listed Prerequisites, SSA Advanced Topics, Pega Help, PDN, and from project implementation real-life experience.

    The LSA Readiness exam is a two hour standard exam that is delivered at Pearson VUE testing centers. A passing score validates that system architects are ready to move to the next level of Pega mastery – design and architecture.

    The exam blueprint is available here on Pega Academy.  Exam information and the Study Guide are available at the Pearson VUE site.

  • Lead System Architect Course

    System architects who pass the LSA Readiness exam can register for the Lead System Architect course.  The two week course teaches best practices in technical design and architecture of a Pega application.  System architects use their configuration skills to build an application that they design and architect.  

    Topics include:

    • Enterprise Design
    • Case Design
    • Data Model Design
    • Supporting Business Users
    • User Experience Design
    • Security
    • Reporting
    • Background processing
    • Performance
    • Deployment and Testing

    The Lead System Architect course information is available here in Pega Academy.

  • LSA Course

  • architect exam

  • Testing Requirements

    To complete the CLSA certification, system architects must take and pass the following two exams:

    • Pega Architecture Exam
    • LSA Architecture Application Build

    Pega Architecture Exam

    The Pega Architecture exam validates that system architects have mastered the design and architecture skills taught in the Lead System Architect course and that they can guide an application development team on configuration decisions. 

    The Pega Architecture exam is a two hour standard exam that is delivered at Pearson VUE testing centers. The exam blueprint is available here in Pega Academy. Additional exam information and registration is available at the Pearson VUE site.

    LSA Architecture Application Build

    The LSA Architecture App Build tests the ability of system architects to architect, implement and analyze Pega 7 solutions. Working with a pre-built Pega 7 application, system architects will be required to:

    • Analyze key areas of the current design and identify architectural deficiencies
    • Implement extensible and reusable solutions for new requirements
    • Identify problem areas and take corrective actions with the current application
    • Document your analysis and solutions using a supplied documentation template

    At the end of the exam, system architects will build and send a migration package which contains their application solutions along with the specified documentation for evaluation.

    The exam activities will be performed over 3 consecutive days and requires a score of 70% in order to pass.

    The LSA Architecture Application Build is managed by Pega. Please contact the CLSA Team at to register for the 7.3 application build. 

  • Certified Lead System Architect, Next Steps

    After certification, CLSAs can continue to take advantage of the numerous training opportunities offered by Pega Academy.

    Explore other training offerings

  • CLSA Certification