Skip to main content
close Search
Close search

Certification Exam

Pega Certified System Architect

60 Questions

1 hr 30 mins

Passing Score: 65%


The Pega Certified System Architect (PCSA) Version 8 certification is for developers and technical staff members who want to learn how to develop Pega applications. This certification is the first level in the System Architect certification path and provides a baseline measurement on your knowledge of Pega applications. The PCSA Version 8 exam includes scenario questions, multiple choice questions and drag/drop items. If multiple answers are required, the text states how many responses are needed.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you are interested in taking the PCSA Version 8 exam, please complete the System Architect Essentials course in the previous Pega Academy application.  If you are interested in taking the new PCSA Version 8.4 exam, view the PCSA 8.4 exam blueprint for exam information.

Exam Code: PEGAPCSA80V1_2019

Languages: English | Japanese | French

Retirement date: Extended to September 30, 2020


System Architect

Exam topics (% of exam)

Pega Platform (5%)
Situational Layer Cake™
Application Development studios
Roles on a Pega project
Case Management (26%)
Designing a Case lifecycle
Setting a service level
Controlling the flow of a case life cycle
Routing work to users; approval routing
Configuring a case hierarchy
Configuring and sending correspondence
Data Modeling (20%)
Adding fields to a case type
Defining user views
Data in memory; clipboard, pyWorkPage
Manipulating case data
Calculating case values
Validation (7%)
Validating case data
Validate rules
Edit Validate rules
Information Exchange (15%)
Creating data types
Managing data pages and views
User Interface (12%)
Customizing user view layouts
User forms; configuring sections, responsive UI behavior
Creating dynamic content in user views
Styling an application using skins
Application Development (7%)
Unit testing rules
Delegating business rules
Reporting (8%)
Creating business reports
Types of reports
Organizing report results
Report optimization

Before you begin…

The Pega Certified System Architect exam is proctored by Pearson VUE.
Users must create a Pearson VUE account if you do not already have one and register for the exam through the Pearson VUE site.
There are two exam delivery options:

  • Take an exam at a test center, or
  • Take an exam via Online Proctored delivery
    (e.g., in a quiet, uninterrupted room in your home or office, proctored via webcam).

Create Pearson VUE Account Register for Exam

We'd prefer it if you saw us at our best.

Pega Academy has detected you are using a browser which may prevent you from experiencing the site as intended. To improve your experience, please update your browser.

Close Deprecation Notice