Skip to main content

Certification Exam

Certified Pega System Architect

60 Questions

1 hr 30 mins

Passing Score: 65%

Beginner Platform Pega Platform Pega Platform 8.4 English

The Pega Certified System Architect (PCSA) Version 8.4 certification is for developers and technical staff members who want to learn how to develop Pega applications. This certification is the first level in the System Architect certification path and provides a baseline measurement on your knowledge of Pega applications. The PCSA Version 8.4 exam includes scenario questions, multiple choice questions and drag/drop items. If multiple answers are required, the text states how many responses are needed.

Exam Code: PEGAPCSA84V1

Languages: English | Portuguese-Brazilian | French | German | Japanese

Retirement date: April 30, 2021


System Architect

Exam topics (% of exam)

Case Management (40%)
Design a case lifecycle, stages, case statuses, adding instructions to assignments
Add a service level: urgency, goals, deadlines, passed deadlines
Route assignments to users, work groups, work queues
Configure approval processes, cascading approvals, authority matrix
Configure and send email correspondence
Identify duplicate cases; create temporary cases
Identify and add optional actions
Configure conditions on a decision step
Skip a stage or process
Pause and resume case processing; wait steps
Attaching PDF files to a case; automate decisions, decision tables, decision trees
Data and Integration (20%)
Describe a data object; group related data
Configure data types, create data objects
Identify and create calculated values
Make data available to an application; add data records to a data type
Integrate with external applications
Describe relationships between data types, cases, and systems of record
Validate data; configure data validation rules by using business logic
Configure a data transform to copy data from one case to another
Create field groups, field group lists
Manipulate data, set default property values, use data transforms
Access data stored in a case: persisting sourced data, refresh strategies, populate UI controls
Save data to a system of record
Simulate and add external data sources
Security (7%)
Manage user and role assignments
Configure security policies
Manage application access
DevOps (5%)
Use unit test rules
Create and execute scenario-based test cases
User Interface (12%)
Identify and configure fields and views
Style an application, use themes
Customize portal content, dashboards
Configure responsive UI behavior for a view
Customize form appearance, visibility settings, controls
Display list data and group fields in views
Application Development (11%)
Manage application development; user stories, feedback, bugs
Identify roles on a Pega project
Create and maintain rules, rulesets, classes, inheritance
View data in memory; clipboard tool, pyWorkPage
Debug application errors; Tracer
Reporting (5%)
Create business reports
Identify types of reports
Organize report results, use of columns and filters

Before you begin…

The Certified Pega System Architect exam is proctored by Pearson VUE.
Users must create a Pearson VUE account if you do not already have one and register for the exam through the Pearson VUE site.
There are two exam delivery options:

  • Take an exam at a test center, or
  • Take an exam via Online Proctored delivery
    (e.g., in a quiet, uninterrupted room in your home or office, proctored via webcam).

Create Pearson VUE Account Register for Exam

We'd prefer it if you saw us at our best.

Pega Academy has detected you are using a browser which may prevent you from experiencing the site as intended. To improve your experience, please update your browser.

Close Deprecation Notice