Managing content
Content management features available in Pega Knowledge allow you to create new versions of existing content, archive content that is no longer relevant or restore it.
Editing content
Users who have been assigned the Editor role can make changes to existing or published content. Additionally, editing is available to Authors in workflows that they start, for example, documents rejected by publishers or approvers. Authors can edit other content if their access group contains the KMEditor role.
- To start editing content in the Knowledge Portal, in the navigation pane on the left, click Knowledge.
- Locate the article that you want to edit in the list and click its name.
- If you are the original author of that content, the content is visible in the My content tab.
- If you are not the original author of the content, click All content to see content created by other authors.
- In the Title column, click the title of the content you want to Edit.
- Click Actions > Edit content.
- In the Reason for edit field, enter the reason why you are editing the content.
- Click Submit.
- Once you have completed the edits, click Submit to send the article for approval.
The status of the new content version depends on whether expert approval is enabled for all content categories by the administrator. Enabling expert approval is an administrative feature which, when enabled, routes articles to knowledge experts for approval whenever they are edited.
If the Enable expert approval setting is enabled, Pega Knowledge creates a new version of the content with a New-Draft status, which means the changes will need to be re-approved for all edits made.
If the Enable expert approval setting is disabled, the status of the new version is set depending on your role:
- Content edited by an editor has New-Draft status.
- Content edited by an approver has Pending-Approval status.
- Content edited by a publisher has Pending-Publish status.
The new version is saved with the new status. If published, it is made available to users and the previous version is automatically archived with the Resolved-Archived status. If the content is referenced in another article, the newest published version will now be referenced instead.
You can see all previous versions of an article by navigating to the Versions tab of that particular article.
Archiving content
Publishers can archive published content that is no longer required for the customers. After you archive the content, it does not display in search results. Remember that you cannot unarchive articles, but you can publish a new version of an archived article by editing the article.
- In the left navigation pane, click Knowledge.
- Locate the article that you want to edit in the list and click its name.
- If you are the original author of that content, the content is visible in the My content tab.
- If you are not the original author of the content, click All content to see content created by other authors.
- In the Title column, click the title of the content you want to archive.
- Click Actions > Archive content.
- Optional: In the Comments section, enter the reason why you are archiving the content.
- Click Submit.
The content status will change to Resolved-Archived.Note: When you create a knowledge article you can use the Expire on option to schedule an article to be automatically archived a period of time.
If you archive an article that is referenced inline in another article, the reference will remain in the body until manually removed, but the article will no longer be accessible or visible externally.
Restoring content
Once you have archived content, you can also restore it if necessary.
- To restore an article, in the left navigation pane, click Knowledge.
- Locate the article that you want to edit in the list and click its name.
- If you are the original author of that content, the content is visible in the My content tab.
- If you are not the original author of the content, click All content to see content created by other authors.
- To make the article easier to locate, you can apply a filter to the Status column to show only content with the Resolved-Archived status.
- In the Title column, click the title of the content you want to archive.
- Click Actions > Restore content.
- In the Reason for edit section, enter the reason why you are restoring the content.
- Click Submit.
The content status will change to New-Draft and can be approved, then published by users with the appropriate roles.
After the article is approved, a new version of the article is created with the Resolved-Published status. For a published article, previous versions of content with the Resolved-Archived status can also be restored.
This Topic is available in the following Module:
Want to help us improve this content?