Skip to main content

Mots de passe et accès au système

Accès non autorisé au système

Les mots de passe et les politiques d’authentification des utilisateurs protègent les données critiques et sensibles collectées par votre application contre tout accès par des utilisateurs non autorisés. Les pirates informatiques — les utilisateurs malveillants qui tentent d’obtenir un accès non autorisé aux systèmes et aux données — utilisent une variété d’approches pour identifier et exploiter les mots de passe peu complexes et les politiques de sécurité peu rigoureuses. Deviner le mot de passe d’un utilisateur est appelé craquage.

Dans une attaque par force brute, un pirate fait une série de tentatives pour déchiffrer le mot de passe d’un utilisateur et réussir à se connecter. Avec une attaque par force brute, le pirate tente toutes les combinaisons possibles de caractères, une par une, jusqu’à ce qu’il arrive à ses fins.

Dans une attaque par dictionnaire, le pirate utilise un dictionnaire — une liste contenant des mots de passe connus ou présumés — pour augmenter ses chances de réussite. Un pirate informatique peut ajouter des entrées à son dictionnaire en :

  • Identifiant les mots courants, comme motdepasse.
  • Effectuant des recherches sur le site Internet d’une organisation pour trouver des termes communs au sein de l’organisation, comme un slogan ou l’année de sa fondation.
  • Obtenant des mots de passe connus à partir d’un piratage réussi d’un site différent.

Par mesure de sécurité, les mots de passe sont souvent stockés sous une forme convertie au moyen d’un processus appelé hachage. Avec ce processus, un algorithme est utilisé pour générer un nombre, appelé code de hachage, à partir d’une chaîne de texte. Par exemple, le mot de passe motdepasse est converti en code de hachage 5f4dcc3b5aa765d61d8327deb882cf99.

Le hachage aide à sécuriser les mots de passe car il est impossible de décrypter le code de hachage pour retrouver sa forme originale. Au lieu de cela, une chaîne de texte telle qu’un mot de passe est hachée et comparée à un code de hachage précédemment généré, connu pour provenir d’une chaîne de texte valide. Par exemple, lorsqu’un utilisateur définit son mot de passe, celui-ci est stocké dans un format haché. Lorsque l’utilisateur tente de se connecter plus tard, le système hache le mot de passe soumis et compare la valeur hachée avec le code de hachage stocké. Si les valeurs correspondent, le mot de passe est considéré comme valide et l’utilisateur est connecté.

Pour craquer un mot de passe haché, les pirates utilisent une attaque par table arc-en-ciel. Dans une attaque par table arc-en-ciel (rainbow table), un pirate crée une table de recherche contenant une liste de mots de passe et de codes de hachage possibles, puis compare chaque code de hachage à une liste de mots de passe hachés. Lorsque les codes correspondent, le pirate identifie le mot de passe à partir de sa table de recherche.

Vérifiez vos connaissances avec l’interaction suivante.

Sécurité des mots de passe

De nombreuses failles de sécurité se produisent lorsqu’un pirate craque un mot de passe à niveau de sécurité faible pour accéder à des données et des systèmes sensibles. La sécurité d’un mot de passe est considérée comme faible si elle répond à l’une des conditions suivantes.

  • Le mot de passe comporte moins de huit caractères.
  • Le mot de passe est composé d’un seul type de caractères, p. ex., uniquement des lettres.
  • Le mot de passe est un mot ou une expression courante, comme motdepasse.
  • Le mot de passe contient des caractères qui se répètent ou des séquences simples, comme 111 ou abcdef (les six premières lettres de l’alphabet français).
  • Le mot de passe contient des substitutions de caractères communes, telles que @ pour a ou 0 pour o.

Si un mot de passe est assez fort, le pirate informatique peut abandonner avant d’avoir craqué le mot de passe. La force du mot de passe dépend de trois facteurs : la longueur, la complexité et la prévisibilité.

Note: Le recours obligatoire à des mots de passe utilisateur forts n’est qu’un aspect de la sécurisation d’une application. Pour une liste complète des bonnes pratiques en termes de sécurité, consultez le module Security Checklist awareness et la check-list de sécurité pour le déploiement de Pega Platform. 

Longueur

Augmenter la longueur d’un mot de passe augmente le nombre de combinaisons possibles à tester. Le nombre maximum de combinaisons possibles d’une chaîne de caractères est xn, où x est le nombre de caractères permis, et n est le nombre de caractères dans la chaîne. Si un mot de passe comprend quatre caractères et ne contient que les lettres minuscules a-z, il n’y a que 264 — ou 456 976 — combinaisons possibles de caractères. L’augmentation de la longueur du mot de passe à 8 caractères augmente le nombre de combinaisons possibles à 268, ou 208 827 064 576.

Complexité

L’augmentation du nombre de caractères autorisés augmente également le nombre de combinaisons. Pour cette raison, les politiques de sécurité nécessitent souvent des majuscules (A-Z) et des lettres minuscules, les chiffres 0-9, et des caractères spéciaux tels que des signes de ponctuation et des opérateurs arithmétiques. Si un mot de passe de huit caractères peut contenir les lettres a-z et A-Z, les chiffres 0-9 et 30 caractères spéciaux` ~! @ # $ % ^ & * ( ) _ + - = [ ] | \ : " ; ' < > ? , . /), le nombre de combinaisons possibles augmente à (26 + 26 + 10 + 30)8, ou 5 132 188 731 375 616‬.

Prévisibilité

Les pirates utilisent souvent des dictionnaires de mots de passe courants, comme motdepasse, lorsqu’ils craquent un mot de passe. Ces dictionnaires comprennent souvent des variations avec des substitutions de caractères courantes telles que @ au lieu de a ou $ plutôt que s. Par exemple, le mot de passe p@$$word semble sûr mais est considéré comme prévisible en raison des substitutions courantes.

Au lieu de cela, utilisez une phrase inhabituelle, comme mon aigle nage dans la soupe au poulet. La phrase entière doit être hachée pour supporter une attaque par table arc-en-ciel, ce qui diminue la probabilité de réussir à déchiffrer le mot de passe. D’autres stratégies consistent à utiliser des lettres capitales aléatoires dans le mot de passe, et des caractères spéciaux à la place des espaces, plutôt que des substitutions de lettres communes.

Vérifiez vos connaissances avec l’interaction suivante.

If you are having problems with your training, please review the Pega Academy Support FAQs.

Thank you for your feedback.

100% found this content useful

Want to help us improve this content?

We'd prefer it if you saw us at our best.

Pega Academy has detected you are using a browser which may prevent you from experiencing the site as intended. To improve your experience, please update your browser.

Close Deprecation Notice

Skip to main content

Passwords and system access

Unauthorized system access

User passwords and authentication policies protect the critical and sensitive data collected by your application from access by unauthorized users. Hackers — malicious users who attempt to gain unauthorized access to systems and data — employ a variety of approaches to identify and exploit weak passwords and lax security policies. The act of guessing a user's password is known as cracking.

In a brute-force attack, a hacker makes a series of attempts to crack a user's password and achieve a successful login. With a brute-force attack, the hacker attempts all possible combinations of characters one-by-one until gaining access.

In a dictionary attack, the hacker uses a dictionary — a wordlist containing known or suspected passwords — to increase the chance of a successful guess. A hacker can add entries to their dictionary by:

  • Identifying common words, such as password.
  • Spidering, or searching an organization's website to identify common terms within the organization, such as a slogan or the year the organization was founded.
  • Obtaining known passwords from a successful hack of a different site.

As a measure of security, passwords are often stored in a converted form through a process known as hashing. With hashing, an algorithm is used to generate a number, called a hash, from a text string. For example, the password password is converted to the hash 5f4dcc3b5aa765d61d8327deb882cf99.

Hashing helps to secure passwords because a hash cannot be decrypted back to its original form. Instead, a text string such as a password is hashed and compared to a previously generated hash known to have originated from a valid text string. For example, when a user sets their password, the password is stored in a hashed format. When the user attempts to log in later, the system hashes the submitted password and compares the hashed value against the stored hash. If the hashes match, the password is considered valid, and the user is logged in.

To crack a hashed password, hackers use a rainbow table attack. In a rainbow table attack, a hacker creates a lookup table containing a list of possible passwords and hashes, then compares each hash against a list of hashed passwords. When the hashes match, the hacker identifies the password from their lookup table.

Check your knowledge with the following interaction.

Password security

Many security breaches occur when a hacker cracks a weak password to gain access to sensitive data and systems. A password is considered weak if it meets one of the following conditions.

  • The password is less than eight characters long.
  • The password consists of only one type of characters, such as only letters.
  • The password is a common word or phrase, such as password.
  • The password contains repeated characters or simple sequences, such as 111 or abcdef (the first six letters of the English alphabet).
  • The password contains common character substitutions, such as @ for a or 0 for o.

If a password is strong enough, a hacker may give up before cracking the password. Password strength depends on three factors: length, complexity, and predictability.

Note: Requiring strong user passwords is only one aspect of securing an application. For a complete list of security leading practices, consult the Security Checklist awareness module and the Security Checklist for Pega Platform deployment. 

Length

Increasing the length of a password increases the number of possible combinations to test. The maximum number of possible combinations of a string of characters is xn, where x is the number of characters allowed, and n is the number of characters in the string. If a password is four characters long and contains only the lowercase letters a-z, there are only 264 — or 456,976 — possible combinations of characters. Increasing the password length to 8 characters increases the number of possible combinations to 268, or 208,827,064,576.

Complexity

Increasing the number of allowed characters also increases the number of combinations. For this reason, security policies often require uppercase (A-Z) and lowercase letters, the numbers 0-9, and special characters such as punctuation marks and arithmetic operators. If a password eight characters long can contain the letters a-z and A-Z, the numbers 0-9 and 30 special characters (` ~ ! @ # $ % ^ & * ( ) _ + - = [ ] | \ : " ; ' < > ? , . /), the number of possible combinations increases to (26 + 26 + 10 + 30)8, or 5,132,188,731,375,616‬.

Predictability

Hackers often use dictionaries of common passwords, such as password, when cracking a password. These dictionaries often include variations with common character substitutions such as @ instead of a or $ instead of s. For example, the password p@$$word appears safe but is considered predictable due to the common substitutions.

Instead, use an uncommon phrase, such as my eagle swims in chicken soup. The entire phrase must be hashed to support a rainbow table attack, which decreases the likelihood of successfully cracking the password. Other strategies include capitalizing random letters in the password and using special characters in place of spaces, rather than in common letter substitutions.

Check your knowledge with the following interaction.

If you are having problems with your training, please review the Pega Academy Support FAQs.

Thank you for your feedback.

100% found this content useful

Want to help us improve this content?

We'd prefer it if you saw us at our best.

Pega Academy has detected you are using a browser which may prevent you from experiencing the site as intended. To improve your experience, please update your browser.

Close Deprecation Notice