Skip to main content
close Search
Close search

Types de donnée

Types de données dans le modèle de données d’application

Pour le traitement des dossiers, les applications Pega Platform™ utilisent différents types de données, qui constituent des ensembles de données de dossier. Les types de données permettent aux développeurs de regrouper un ensemble de champs pour décrire un objet unique.

Par exemple, une application de RH pour le traitement des nouvelles candidatures a le type de dossier Nouveau candidat. Pour le traitement d’une nouvelle candidature, les RH doivent réunir des informations concernant le candidat, telles que son expérience professionnelle et un extrait de casier judiciaire. Vous pouvez décrire un postulant à l’aide d’un ensemble de champs, notamment le nom, l’adresse e-mail, l’adresse postale et le numéro de téléphone. Le type de données Candidat regroupe ces champs afin de décrire le candidat. De même, le type de dossier Nouveau candidat regroupe les types de données Expérience professionnelle et Vérification des antécédents pour décrire le parcours professionnel et les antécédents judiciaires du candidat.

La collecte de types de dossiers et de données dans votre application définit de manière globale votre modèle de données.

Application data model for a Pega application that contains a New Candidate case type

Structure du type de données

Un type de données se compose d’un ou plusieurs champs à valeur unique, listes ou groupes de champs. Les champs définissent la structure des données du type de données. L’ensemble de ces différents champs représente un type d’objet unique. Par exemple, le type de données Candidat peut comprendre 30 champs, dont les suivants : Prénom, Nom de famille, Adresse, E-mail et Numéro de téléphone.

En plus de regrouper des éléments de données, les types de données peuvent regrouper d’autres objets, tels que les vues et d’autres règles créées par des développeurs plus expérimentés.

Les types de données peuvent faire référence à d’autres types de données. Par exemple, le type de données Candidat pourrait inclure le groupe de champs Adresse, défini dans le type de données Adresse. Le groupe de champs Adresse peut notamment contenir les champs Rue, Ville et Code postal.

data object structure
Note: Pour plus d’informations au sujet des champs et des groupes de champs, consultez les rubriques d’aide Ajouter un champ à valeur unique dans un formulaire et Ajouter un groupe de champs dans un formulaire.

Les types de données sont des modèles que vous pouvez réutiliser partout dans votre application. Par exemple, une application peut contenir le type de données générique Account que vous pouvez réutiliser dans deux types de dossiers : un qui permet au client de transférer des fonds entre ses comptes bancaires et un qui lui permet de changer l’adresse associée à son compte. Les champs qui s’appliquent aux différents types de dossiers comprennent notamment Account Number, Current Balance et Next Statement Date, et sont enregistrés dans le type de données Account. Les champs spécifiques à chaque type de dossier sont enregistrés dans les types de données spécialisés appropriés.

Account data object that can be reused by different case types

Héritage du type de données

Vous pouvez créer des types de données afin de réutiliser les ressources d’un type de données existant par le biais de l’héritage. Par exemple, Person est un type de données générique, ou un type de données parent, tandis que Customer et Call Center Representative (CCR) sont des types de données plus spécialisés. Pour indiquer la relation entre les types de données parent et enfant, utilisez le schéma Parent-Enfant, par exemple, Person-Customer et Person-CCR. Ces trois types de données possèdent des champs communs, dont Name, Telephone et Email. Les champs communs que vous créez dans le type de données Person peuvent être réutilisés dans les types de données Customer et Call Center Representative. Les champs Tax Identification Number et Membership Number s’appliquent uniquement aux clients. Vous devez donc les définir dans le type de données Customer. Enfin, le champ Employee ID ne s’applique qu’aux employés. Vous le définirez donc dans le type de données Call Center Representative.

Person parent data object, customer and call center representative child data types

Sur les types de données spécialisés, vous pouvez voir les champs du type de données et tous les champs du type de données parent qu’ils réutilisent. Utilisez le curseur sur l’image suivante pour visualiser le type de données Customer avec et sans champs réutilisables.

Sourcing des types de données

Vous pouvez acquérir les types de données localement depuis un système d’enregistrement Pega Platform ou depuis un système d’enregistrement externe. Autrement, les types de données peuvent collecter des données que vous ou un participant du dossier saisissez ou modifiez lors du traitement de la candidature et qui ne sont pas liées à un système d’enregistrement.

Lorsque vous déterminez la manière de sourcer un type de données, réfléchissez aux questions présentées dans l’image suivante. Ces questions sont basées sur deux hypothèses : vous utilisez Pega Platform pour la première fois et vous créez une application en partant de rien. Cliquez sur les symboles + pour visualiser un exemple de chaque option pour le sourcing de type de données.

Bonnes pratiques applicables aux types de données

Dans la mesure du possible, utilisez les types de données standard habituels fournis par Pega Platform, tels que l’Adresse postale et l’Adresse e-mail. Vous pouvez également ajouter des types de données pertinents pour votre application.

Si un type de données ne répond que partiellement à vos besoins, vous pouvez l’étendre. Par exemple, si vous voulez créer le type de données Employé, vous pouvez étendre le type de données existant Personne afin de créer le type de données Personne-Employé.

Si aucun type de données adapté n’existe, créez-en un. Par exemple, si vous voulez ajouter le type de données Codes d’aéroports, mais que vous ne pouvez pas utiliser ou étendre un type de données existant, créez-en un dans Pega Platform.

If you are having problems with your training, please review the Pega Academy FAQs.

Did you find this content helpful?

75% found this content useful

Want to help us improve this content?

Proposer une modification

We'd prefer it if you saw us at our best.

Pega Academy has detected you are using a browser which may prevent you from experiencing the site as intended. To improve your experience, please update your browser.

Close Deprecation Notice

Skip to main content
close Search
Close search

Data types

Data types in the application data model

To process cases, Pega Platform™ applications use many different data types, which are collections of case data. Data types provide a way for developers to group a set of fields to describe a single object.

For example, an HR application for processing new candidates has the New Candidate case type. To process a new candidate, HR must gather basic information about the candidate, such as their employment history and criminal record information. You can describe a job candidate with a set of fields, including name, email address, home address, and telephone number. The Candidate data type groups these fields to describe the candidate. Similarly, the New Candidate case type has the Employment History data type and the Background Check data type to describe the candidate's employment history and criminal record information.

The collection of case types and data types in your application holistically defines your data model.

Application data model for a Pega application that contains a New Candidate case type

Data type structure

A data type consists of one or more single-value fields, lists, or groups of fields. The fields define the data structure of the data type. Collectively, the different fields represent a single type of object. For example, the Candidate data type might have 30 fields, including First Name, Last Name, Address, Email, and Phone Number.

In addition to grouping data elements, data types can group other objects, such as views and other rules that are created by more advanced developers. 

Data types can reference other data types. For example, the Candidate data type could have the Address field group that is defined in the Address data type. The Address field group might have such fields as Street Name, City, and Postal Code.

data object structure
Note: For more information about fields and field groups, see Adding a single-value field to a form and Adding a field group to a form.

Data types are templates that you can use anywhere in your application. For example, an application might contain the generic Account data type that you can reuse in two case types: one that allows the customer to transfer funds between bank accounts, and one that allows the customer to change the address that is associated with their account. Fields that apply across different case types include Account Number, Current Balance, and Next Statement Date, and are saved to the Account data type. Fields that are specific to each case type are saved to the appropriate specialized data types.

Account data object that can be reused by different case types

Data type inheritance

You can create data types to reuse assets from an existing data type through inheritance. For example, Person is a generic data type, or a parent data type, while Customer and Call Center Representative (CCR) are more specialized data types. To denote the relationship between parent and child data types, use the Parent-Child pattern, for example, Person-Customer and Person-CCR. All three data types have common fields, including Name, Telephone, and Email. By creating the common fields in the Person data type, you can reuse the fields in the Customer and Call Center Representatives data types. The fields Tax Identification Number and Membership Number apply to customers only, so you define them in the Customer data type. Because the field Employee ID applies to employees only, you define the field in the Call Center Representative data type.

Person parent data object, customer and call center representative child data types

On specialized data types, you can view the fields for that data type, and any fields that they reuse from the parent data type. Use the slider on the following image to view the Customer data type with and without reusable fields.

Data type sourcing

You can source data types locally from a Pega Platform system of record, or you can source data types from an external system of record. Alternatively, data types can obtain data that you or a case participant enters or changes during application processing that are not associated with any system of record.

When you determine how to source a data type, consider the questions in the following image. The questions assume that you are new to Pega Platform and that you create an application from scratch. Click the hotspots to learn about an example of each data type sourcing option.

Data type best practices

Whenever possible, use standard, commonly-used data types that Pega Platform provides, such as Address-Postal and Address-Email. You can also add relevant data types to your application.

If a data type only partially meets your needs, you can extend that data type. For example, if you want to create the Employee data type, you can extend the existing Person data type to create the Person-Employee data type.

If a suitable data type does not exist yet, create a new one. For example, if you want to add the Airport Codes data type, but you cannot use or extend an existing data type, create a new one in Pega Platform.

If you are having problems with your training, please review the Pega Academy FAQs.

Did you find this content helpful?

75% found this content useful

Want to help us improve this content?

Suggest an edit

We'd prefer it if you saw us at our best.

Pega Academy has detected you are using a browser which may prevent you from experiencing the site as intended. To improve your experience, please update your browser.

Close Deprecation Notice