Skip to main content

Certified System Architect

This certification exam is intended for System Architects and Application Developers who are directly involved in the design and construction of applications built on Pega.

The Certified System Architect (CSA) certification is for developers and technical staff members who want to learn how to develop Pega applications. This certification provides a baseline measurement on your knowledge of Pega applications. The CSA 7.2 exam includes scenario questions, multiple choice questions and drag/drop items. If multiple answers are required, the text states how many responses are needed. NOTE: The CSA 7.2 exam was retired on December 31, 2018.


Exam Topics (% of exam)

Application Design (7%)

  • System Architect responsibilities
  • Pega application development guardrails
  • Classes and class structure
  • Circumstancing rules

Case Design (30%)

  • Case steps and stages
  • Cases and sub cases
  • Routing
  • Service levels
  • Activities
  • Correspondence
  • Work status
  • Work parties

Data Model (19%)

  • Properties and data types
  • Data transforms
  • Declarative processing
  • Reference data
  • Data pages

Decision Design (7%)

  • When rules
  • Decision tables
  • Decision trees

UI Design (20%)

  • Basic UI rules and their uses (Section, Paragraph)
  • Dynamic UIs
  • Responsive UIs
  • UI Controls

Report Design (7%)

  • Report types in Pega 7
  • Creating reports
  • Filters
  • Optimization

Integration (6%)

  • Connectors
  • Services

Testing (4%)

  • Methods to debug Pega applications (Tracer, Live UI, Clipboard)
  • Format

    • 90 minutes
    • 73 questions

  • Passing Score


View our Certification FAQ and Policies