Skip to main content

Certified Senior System Architect

This certification exam is for Certified System Architects (CSAs) who are ready to further their Pega skills and knowledge. This exam will be retired on December 31, 2019.

The Certified Senior System Architect (CSSA) certification validates the ability to use Pega to design and build for reusability across multiple lines of business, and includes applying best practices, understanding application debugging, understanding performance tuning and system maintenance techniques, and addressing security/access requirements in an application. The CSSA 7.4 exam includes scenario questions, multiple choice questions and drag/drop items.


Exam Topics (% of exam)

Application Design (22%)

  • Creating new applications and new application versions
  • Rulesets
  • Rule Resolution
  • Enterprise Class Structure
  • Reusability and Specialization

Case Design (5%)

  • Temporary cases
  • Duplicate cases

Data Model Design (8%)

  • Localizable lists of data values
  • Data access patterns

Process Design (23%)

  • Organization records
  • Cascading approvals
  • Prioritization of user assignments
  • Circumstancing rules on multiple variables
  • Rule delegation
  • Parallel processing
  • Screen flows
  • Flow action pre- and post- processing

UI Design (10%)

  • User portal customization
  • Mobile-ready application design
  • Customizing the look and feel of an application

Report Design (3%)

  • Combining data from multiple classes
  • Associations and joins
  • Incorporating data from sub-reports
  • Relationship of class mappings to database joins

Data Management (10%)

  • Creating and testing services
  • External Database integration
  • Integration error handling
  • Simulating integration data
  • Managing integration settings

Application Debugging (7%)

  • Reviewing log files
  • Analyzing application performance
  • App DB Trace
  • Performance Analyzer (PAL)
  • Performance Profiler

Application Administration (12%)

  • Securing an application
  • Configuring batch processes
  • Application Migration
  • Format

    • 90 minutes
    • 60 questions

  • Passing Score


View our Certification FAQ and Policies