Skip to main content

Pega Certified System Architect

This certification exam is intended for System Architects and Application Developers who are directly involved in the design and construction of applications built on Pega.

The Pega Certified System Architect (PCSA) certification is for developers and technical staff members who want to learn how to develop Pega applications. This certification provides a baseline measurement on your knowledge of Pega applications. The PCSA Version 8 exam is available in English and Japanese, and includes scenario questions, multiple choice questions and drag/drop items. If multiple answers are required, the text states how many responses are needed. EXAM CODE: PEGAPCSA80V1_2019.


Exam Topics (% of exam)

Pega Platform (5%)

  • Situational Layer Cake™
  • Application Development studios
  • Roles on a Pega project

Case Management (26%)

  • Designing a Case lifecycle
  • Setting a service level
  • Controlling the flow of a case life cycle
  • Routing work to users; approval routing
  • Configuring a case hierarchy
  • Configuring and sending correspondence

Data Modeling (20%)

  • Adding fields to a case type
  • Defining user views
  • Data in memory; clipboard, pyWorkPage
  • Manipulating case data
  • Calculating case values

Validation (7%)

  • Validating case data
  • Validate rules
  • Edit Validate rules

Information Exchange (15%)

  • Creating data types
  • Managing data pages and views

User Interface (12%)

  • Customizing user view layouts
  • User forms; configuring sections, responsive UI behavior
  • Creating dynamic content in user views
  • Styling an application using skins

Application Development (7%)

  • Unit testing rules
  • Delegating business rules

Reporting (8%)

  • Creating business reports
  • Types of reports
  • Organizing report results
  • Format

    • 90 minutes
    • 60 questions

  • Passing Score


View our Certification FAQ and Policies